About the cPPP

As part of the EU cybersecurity strategy, the European Commission and the European Cyber Security Organisation (ECSO) signed a cPPP on 5 July 2016.
The aim of the partnership is to foster cooperation between public and private actors at early stages of the research and innovation process in order to allow people in Europe to access innovative and trustworthy European solutions (ICT products, services and software). These solutions take into consideration fundamental rights, such as the right for privacy.

It also aims to stimulate cybersecurity industry, by helping align the demand and supply sectors to allow industry to elicit future requirements from end-users, as well as sectors that are important customers of cybersecurity solutions (e.g. energy, health, transport, finance).
The cPPP will be instrumental in structuring and coordinating digital security industrial resources in Europe. It will include a wide range of actors, from innovative SMEs to producers of components and equipment, critical infrastructure operators and research institutes, brought together under the umbrella of ECSO.

The EU will invest up to €450 million in this partnership, under its research and innovation programme Horizon 2020. Cybersecurity market players are expected to invest three times more.

Reference documents

- Communication: Strengthening Europe's Cyber Resilience System and Fostering a Competitive and Innovative Cybersecurity Industry
- Commission Decision to establish a contractual public private partnership on cybersecurity (cPPP)
- Commission Staff working document on cPPP and accompanying measures
- Commission Staff working document on assessment of cybersecurity in EU's Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (FP7) and the Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP)
- Commission Staff working document on Consultation Process


Partnership Board

The Partnership Board is the formal communication channel between the European Commission and the ECSO Association to discuss the Horizon 2020 Cybersecurity cPPP Work Programme, the implementation of the overall R&I programme related topics and the monitoring of the cPPP commitments (Key Progress Indicators). It allows for an open dialogue between the members to reach the objectives foreseen by the contractual arrangement between the European Commission and ECSO. It provides oversight such as monitoring, advising, community support etc. The Partnership Board is composed by representative from the European Commission and ECSO Members (with exclusion of representatives from public administrations).

List of members and substitutes

ATOS Spain S,A,
F-Secure Corporation
Infineon Technologies AG
Leonardo S.p.a. – Leonardo-Finmeccanica-Società per azioni
NXP Semiconductors B.V.

ASPISEC s.r.l.
Conceptivity sarl
RadarServices Smart IT-Security GmbH
S2 Grupo de Innovacón en Procesos Organizativos S.L.
AEI Ciberseguridad – Agrupacíon Empresarial Innovadora en ciberseguridad y Tecnologías
EOS – European Organisation for Security
FISC – Finnish Information Security Cluster
Airbus Group
EDF – Electricité de France
ISGS – Intesa SanPaolo Group Services S.C.P.A.
CNR – Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
FORTH – Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
IMT – Institut Mines-Télécom
TECNALIA – Fundación Tecnalia Research & Innovation
VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
SPRI S.A. – Sociedad para la Transformación Competitiva – Eraldaketa Lehiakorrerako Sozietatea, s.a.r.

Calls for proposals